Skip to main content

EXPERT ADVICE

EXPERT ADVICE FROM LE ROY DU PAVAGE

Our team at Le Roy du Pavage is glad to answer any and all questions you may have about our asphalting and paving services in the Laurentians and the Lanaudière region. On this page you will find information about our work as well as useful maintenance advice and tips. Call us for more information!

AFTER PAVING - HOW TO PROTECT YOUR ASPHALT

Wait at least 48 hours before circulating on the paved surface with your vehicle. For the first year, care should be taken to avoid the passage of heavy vehicles, as well as heavy objects such as motorcycle kickstands, trailer or caravan jacks, and lawn chairs or BBQs which could damage the surface, especially in hot sunny weather. It is also recommended to avoid turning your vehicle's wheels when it is immobilised on the pavement. Finally, wait 90 days before applying a sealer.

GETTING RID OF OIL OR PETROLEUM-BASED PRODUCT STAINS

Start by spreading an absorbent material such as cat litter over the stain. Afterwards, spray using a degreaser, give the product time to act and then scrub the area with a soft brush. Rinse and repeat as needed.

Give us a call!

ASPHALTING A RESIDENTIAL DRIVEWAY

FIRST STEPS

By performing a soil analysis we can provide you with an accurate estimate of the cost of the project. This also helps prevent problematic situations with regards to draining and the presence of clay or other contaminants. After a visual examination, our specialist will take soil samples in order to obtain an adequate picture of the foundations. For a new construction we wait 6 to 12 months before paving to give the ground time to stabilize.

EXCAVATING, GEOTEXTILE MEMBRANE AND BACKFILL

It is necessary to excavate two to three feet below the surface in order to create a solid base of gravel. The depth varies according to the properties of the soil. For clay soils, we recommend installing a geotextile membrane to avoid contaminating the materials. It is also recommended to backfill the surface in order to prevent frost heaving.

The granular mixture most often used is MG112 (0 to 112 mm) to which is added gravel ranging from 0 to 20 mm in diameter. This aids with draining and solidifying the surface.

LAYING THE ASPHALT

The finer the aggregate, the smoother the finish, but it will be fragile. We generally suggest striking a balance between durability and aesthetics. To obtain a thickness of 50 mm after compaction, the layer of asphalt should be 60 to 75 mm thick beforehand.

COMPACTION

The materials are compacted in successive layers, which helps minimize the space between particles as well as water infiltrations that could damage the asphalt during freeze-thaw cycles.

ENSURING PROPER DRAINAGE

The recommended slope to ensure proper water drainage is 2%, or a 1/4 inch per foot. This slope must be created during excavation and maintained after backfilling.

Pavement picture

Contact us for a free quote

Let the experts handle your asphalting or paving project

Skip to main content

CONSEILS D'EXPERT

DES CONSEILS D’EXPERT CHEZ LE ROY DU PAVAGE

L’équipe du Roy du pavage est heureuse de répondre à toutes les questions que vous vous posez concernant nos services d’asphaltage et de pavage dans les Laurentides et Lanaudière. Sur cette page, nous vous expliquons notre travail et vous donnons des conseils d’entretien pertinents. Appelez-nous pour en savoir davantage!

APRÈS UN PAVAGE – QUOI FAIRE POUR ÉVITER D’ENDOMMAGER L’ASPHALTE

Attendez au moins 48 heures avant de circuler sur la surface pavée avec un véhicule. La première année, on devrait faire attention au passage de véhicules lourds, ainsi qu’aux objets lourds comme les pieds de motos ou de roulottes, les chaises ou les BBQ qui pourraient laisser des marques lors de grandes chaleurs surtout. Il est aussi sage d’éviter de tourner les roues de la voiture lorsqu’elle est immobilisée. Enfin, il faut attendre 90 jours avant d’appliquer un scellant.

SE DÉBARRASSER D’UNE TACHE D’HUILE OU DE PRODUIT À BASE DE PÉTROLE

Étendez d’abord un produit absorbant tel que de la litière à chat sur la tache. Ensuite, utilisez un produit dégraissant. Vaporisez le produit, laissez-le agir, puis brossez bien la zone à l’aide d’une brosse douce. Rincez et répétez au besoin.

Appelez-nous!

ASPHALTAGE D’UN STATIONNEMENT RÉSIDENTIEL

MISE EN PLACE

En procédant à l’analyse des sols, nous pouvons vous donner une juste estimation des coûts du projet. Cela nous permet aussi de prévenir certaines situations problématiques quant au drainage, à la présence d’argile ou d’autres contaminants. Après une première évaluation visuelle, le spécialiste fait des tests à échantillons afin d’avoir un portrait fidèle des fondations. On attendra entre 6 et 12 mois avant d’entreprendre les travaux si la construction est neuve, question que le sol se stabilise.

EXCAVATION, MEMBRANE GÉOTEXTILE ET REMBLAI

L’excavation de la surface (entre 4 a 12 pouces) est nécessaire afin de créer une base solide de pierres concassées et propres. Leur épaisseur varie en fonction des propriétés du sol. Pour les sols argileux, on recommande d’installer une membrane géotextile qui évite la contamination des matériaux. Il est aussi avisé de faire un remblai sur la surface afin de contrer les poussées du gel.

Le mélange granulaire utilisé le plus souvent est le MG112 (de 0 à 112 mm) auquel sont ajoutées des pierres concassées d’un diamètre variant entre 0 et 20 mm. Celles-ci aident à solidifier et à bien drainer la surface.

ÉPANDAGE DES ENROBÉS (ASPHALTAGE)

Plus le granulat est fin, plus le fini sera lisse, mais plus il sera fragile. On suggère généralement de trouver un juste équilibre entre esthétisme et robustesse. Pour atteindre une épaisseur de 50 mm après le compactage, la couche d’asphalte devrait avoir une épaisseur de 60 à 75 mm.

COMPACTAGE

Les matériaux sont compactés par couches successives, ce qui permet d’éliminer le plus possible les vides entre les particules et de minimiser les infiltrations d’eau qui pourraient endommager l’asphalte lors de périodes de variations thermiques.

CONDITIONS D’UN ÉCOULEMENT EFFICACE

La pente minimale recommandée pour permettre un écoulement efficace de l’eau est de 2 %, soit 1/4 po par pied. Cette pente doit être réalisée lors de l’excavation et maintenue lors du remblayage.

Pavement

Obtenez une soumission gratuitement

Votre project d'asphaltage ou de pavage est entre les main d'experts